Hearing that Photoshop is inferior to any other design program piqued my interest. Before having a representative from the Martin Agency come to talk to our class, I didn’t even think the notion was possible. Lo and behold, Hank Thornhill believes Sketch is the end-all be-all program for designing things oriented toward UX and UI. Having lived and died (metaphorically – lots of senior projects) on Adobe products for years, I decided that I had to look into this. Especially because I hate Photoshop. I really, really hate it. If I can avoid Photoshop entirely, I will go to the ends of the Earth to make that happen. That being said, I should also be looking for a non-subscription based software since Creative Cloud gets a lot more expensive when that student discount disappears. Enter Sketch.

Not having vector-based design  seems like the biggest set-back in Photoshop for me. I don’t always know exactly what size I need a graphic to be and resizing previously saved images can wreck the quality. I rely on Illustrator to make up for that shortcoming, but I like the idea of Sketch already incorporating that.

I’m a numbers person. When I have to measure somethings and ensure precision, I quadruple-check and then check again. I’m also obsessed with keeping things neat. Sketch is satisfying my needs here by providing a better method of creating guidelines and grids than you could produce in Photoshop. Being able to measure how things line up for a website is crucial.

Perhaps the most mind-blowing, earth-shattering feature in Sketch is the fact that every property of a design you do can be designed again using CSS. Front-end and back-end designers rejoice! Things such as shadows, gradients, and borders can be recreated without tearing out handfuls of hair!

While there seem to be tons of advantages to using Sketch over Photoshop, I’ve realized that they can’t be treated as the same technology. They have plus’s and minus’s up and down the board, shown incredibly well by this infographic from WebDesignerDepot.com:

sketch-vs-photoshop

What I’ve learned from my search for information on Sketch is that it can’t replace Photoshop, but can help a lot with web design layouts. Photoshop will be kept in my back pocket for image enhancements and simple text, while Sketch will be my best friend in wireframing and website mockups. I may not be able to ditch my Creative Cloud subscription just yet, but who knows what Sketch developers will come up with next?

Source

 

